## United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

September 20, 2013

The Honorable Harry Reid Majority Leader United States Senate S-221 United States Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Barbara Mikulski Chairwoman Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate S-230 United States Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Richard Shelby Vice Chairman Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Majority Leader Reid, Minority Leader McConnell, Chairwoman Mikulski, and Vice Chairman Shelby:

We write regarding funding for the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP). We appreciate your past support of this critical program and respectfully request that you again provide full-year funding for LIHEAP at no less than the Fiscal Year (FY) 2012 level in any upcoming continuing resolution.

LIHEAP is the primary federal program that assists low-income households and seniors with their energy bills, providing vital assistance during both the cold winter and hot summer months. According to the National Energy Assistance Directors Association (NEADA), more than 90 percent of LIHEAP recipients have at least one elderly household member, disabled household member, or child in their homes. For these households, access to affordable home energy is a matter of health and safety. LIHEAP funding has been a lifeline during challenging economic times, helping to ensure that recipients do not have to choose between paying their energy bills and paying for other necessities like food and medicine.

Unfortunately, the number of households eligible for the program continues to surpass those able to receive assistance. Funding for LIHEAP has declined 32 percent in recent years to \$3.47 billion in FY 2013. This has led to a reduction in the average grant award from \$417 to \$308 since 2009 and decreased the purchasing power of the grant for low-income households. With the Energy Information Administration projecting that household expenditures this winter for heating oil and natural gas will increase by 17 percent and eight percent, respectively, it is essential to ensure that states will receive the funds necessary to provide assistance to Americans in need.

In order to prevent added uncertainty and a decrease in the amount of funding available for grant awards compared to last year, we ask that you include language in the continuing resolution specifically directing the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to release the full amount of each state's LIHEAP allocation at the FY 2012 level. This would follow past precedent. The FY 2013 Continuing Appropriations Act directed HHS to distribute funds under

the same formula. We believe that the continued economic challenges, seasonality of the LIHEAP program, and anticipated length of the upcoming continuing resolution necessitates this specific stipulation for LIHEAP once again.

Thank you for your consideration of this request, and we look forward to working with you on this important matter.

Sincerely,

	10	( 1	50.0	L
1	Len		July	I
Jack I	leed			
Y	1000			

United States Senator

Showed Brown

United States Senator

Edward Markey
United States Senator

Kirsten E. Gillibrand

Kirsten E. Gillibrand United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr.

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Angan Collins

Susan Collins United States Senator

Lisa Murkowski United States Senator

Kelly Ayotte
United States Senator

Angus King //
United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator Ron Wyden United States Senator

Patrick J. Leahy

Patrick J. Leahy United States Senator

Shadon Whitehouse United States Senator

Jon Tester United States Senator

Jeff Merkley United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

John D. Rockefeller IV United States Senator Buf Hander

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Tim Kaine United States Senator

Brian Schatz United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator Tim Johnson

Tim Johnson United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

Mary Landrieu
United States Senator

Ben Cardin United States Senator

Robert Menendez United States Senator

Al Frenken

Al Franken United States Senator

Kay Hagan
United States Senator

Charles E. Schumer

Joe Manchin III

United States Senator

United States Senator

Carl Levin United States Senator

CC: The Honorable Tom Harkin, Chairman

The Honorable Jerry Moran, Ranking Member