Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 16, 2024

The Honorable Deb Haaland Secretary Department of the Interior 1849 C Street, NW Washington, DC 20240 The Honorable Tracy Stone-Manning Director Bureau of Land Management 1849 C Street, NW Washington, DC 20240

Dear Secretary Haaland and Director Stone-Manning,

In response to the Bureau of Land Management's July 12, 2024 request for feedback on its management of protected areas in the Western Arctic, we ask you to look at expanding and providing new protections to additional areas of the 23.4 million-acre reserve. Additionally, it is important to ensure that significant surface values within these areas are maximally safeguarded from disruption and use a science- and traditional knowledge-based approach that includes Tribal co-stewardship. The myriad of unique ecosystems, sensitive habitats, and iconic species within the Western Arctic must be prioritized and protected from the impacts of oil and gas development. As the largest unit of public land in the country, management decisions for the Western Arctic play an incredibly important role in supporting conservation, climate, and Alaska Native culture.

The Naval Petroleum Reserves Production Act (NPRPA) requires that the Department of Interior provide maximum protection for areas with important fish and wildlife, cultural, conservation, biodiversity, subsistence, and other values, known as Special Areas. The Department designated the first Special Areas—recognizing the importance of the Utukok River Uplands, Teshekpuk Lake, and the Colville River—in the 1970s and has added more areas and protections since then, including for Peard Bay and Kasegaluk Lagoon.

In April 2024, the Biden-Harris administration expanded protections for and supported subsistence uses for Alaska Native communities on 13 million acres of iconic landscapes in five Special Areas within the Western Arctic (National Petroleum Reserve-Alaska). The July 12, 2024 request for information provides a new opportunity to consult with Indigenous leaders, scientists, and the public to review whether additional areas of the Western Arctic deserve new or expanded protections. The April 2024 rule recognized the Department's authority to engage in co-stewardship with Tribes; we strongly encourage you to seek opportunities for meaningful partnerships and engagement with Tribes for any new or expanded protected areas.

Congress long ago recognized that management decisions for the Western Arctic deeply affect the people and species who call this place home, and, accordingly, provided the Department with the ability to designate Special Areas in the region. These protections ensure that the species that rely on the Western Arctic can continue to thrive in a changing climate and

_

¹ 42 U.S.C. § 6501 et seq.

sustain the communities that rely on them for survival. This opportunity to take a renewed look at needed protections is especially timely, as the effects of climate change in the Arctic—from declining sea ice, permafrost thaw, and record temperatures—are felt more acutely than ever before and new extractive development encroaches more and more into important habitat and subsistence areas. Caribou herds, migratory birds, polar bears, brown bears, walruses, and beluga whales all depend upon the ecosystem of the Western Arctic, and all deserve the highest level of protection to limit the impacts of development.

Thank you, and we appreciate your ongoing work to ensure America's Arctic is protected both now and for the future.

Sincerely,

Jared Huffman

Member of Congress

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

Jasmine Crockett

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez

Member of Congress

serrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

Summer L. Lee

Member of Congress



Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager-Dove Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Julia Brownley
Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress Mike Levin

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejardro Frost Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas
Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Cori Bush Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress



Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar

Member of Congress

David J. Trone

Member of Congress

United States Senator

Member of Congress

Race I Napolitano Member of Congress

Winds J. Jany

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

United States Senator

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson,

N Tokula

Member of Congress

Martin Heinrich

United States Senator

aus Dellotte

Diana DeGette Member of Congress Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

Peter Welch

United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen

United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley

United States Senator

Maria Cantwell

United States Senator